COLLEGE OF NATURAL SCIENCES and MATHEMATICS

Minutes of Chairs Council Meeting – March 11, 2013

A meeting of the Chairs' Council of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics was held Monday, March 11, 2013. All chairs were present except for Dr. Frederickson. Dr. William Slaton represented the Physics department.

Agenda Items:

- 1. Minutes from the 2-25-13 CoC were approved as amended.
- 2. Dean Addison discussed INBRE equipment grants. He distributed NIH guidelines and some proposals.
- 3.

fellow in academic administration at Franklin and Marshall. He became Provost at Mount Union College in 1988 and Chemistry Chair at UCA in 1992. Since his retirement from UCA in 2005, he has served as a visiting scholar at Franklin and Marshall. In addition to his roles as chemistry professor and administrator, Stanikski has been influential nationally as an author. He has authored or coauthored a number of textbooks including two sponsored by the ACS: <u>Chemistry in the Community</u> and <u>Chemistry in Context</u>. He has served administratively as chair of the ACS Division of Chemical Education, Project Kaleidoscope, the Chemical Heritage Foundation and a number of ACS committees. He and his under the direction of Dr. Jason Martin. FYI-the department created a master's thesis track in the MA program last year. Kritika will be the first student in this track and is planning to graduate at the end of this coming summer.

- Dr. Jean McGehee received a \$55,361 grant from the Arkansas Department of Higher Education for her project Algebra & Geometry in Vertical Teams Grades 8-11. The objective of the grant is to provide professional development for 20 geometry and algebra teachers during summer 2013. This is a second ADHE grant for Dr. McGehee in as many years.
- Mr. Ezechiel Degny, an MS student mentored by Dr. Clarence Burg, is scheduled to defend his masters' thesis, *Derivative-Based Gauss-Legendre and Midpoint Quadrature Rules*, on March 13, 2013.

Physics:

• No report.