СӰԺ Student Involvement Awards Ceremony Honors Outstanding Campus Members

The СӰԺ held its Student Involvement Awards Ceremony on Thursday, April 27, to recognize outstanding students, as well as faculty and staff who promote a robust campus life. Approximately 30 student organizations and over 150 students attended along with their advisors.

Outstanding campus members were honored for their contributions in leadership, service, outreach and diversity initiatives across 19 award categories.

“Taking the time to recognize these students and organizations is important to us because it celebrates those who have embraced these opportunities and have really taken charge of their co-curricular experience,” said Jacob Ternes, director of the Office of Student Life. “Student Life strives to provide the resources and tools to these groups, but these organizations and individuals are putting in the work to really be the ones who create the robust campus life that СӰԺ has to offer.”

Among the awards, the Hermandad de Sigma Iota Alpha, a Latina-based sorority, won Student Organization of the Year, the highest honor awarded to a group at СӰԺ. Their mission is to foster pride and respect for their heritage and to serve the community. Activities this year included efforts to support first generation students and numerous volunteer efforts.

Award categories and recipients are as follows:

  • Student Organization of the Year: Hermandad de Sigma Iota Alpha
  • New Student Organization of the Year: Girls Who Code
  • Outstanding Community Outreach by a Student Organization: Alpha Kappa Alpha
  • Student Leader of the Year: Brad Lewis
  • Emerging Student Leader of the Year: Abigail Wells
  • RSO Advisor of the Year: Thomas Bruick
  • Outstanding Community Outreach by a Student: Maggie McGowan
  • Outstanding Diversity Outreach by a Student: James Buckley
  • Fraternity Rookie of the Year: Dylan Silberman-Barnes
  • Sorority Rookie of the Year: Caroline Fortenberry
  • Greek Man of the Year: Ricardo Guevara
  • Greek Woman of the Year: Christina Elliot
  • Panhellenic Woman of Integrity: Johnna Hollis
  • Greek Chapter GPA Awards: Delta Zeta, Beta Upsilon Chi, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Hermandad de Sigma Iota Alpha, Sigma Tau Gamma, and Delta Sigma Theta
  • Greek Community Service/Philanthropy Awards: Sigma Kappa, Sigma Phi Epsilon, Alpha Kappa Alpha and Hermandad de Sigma Iota Alpha, Alpha Sigma Alpha and Sigma Nu
  • Campus-Wide Event of the Year: Bruce and Sugar’s Birthday
  • Innovative Event of the Year: Virtual Law School Fair
  • Service Event of the Year: Read-a-Thon
  • Cultural Event of the Year: Latin American Music Fest